Dinomosaic

20140320-084014.jpg

Oh, no! My supply order got lost, and the lesson plan I had planned to do with my first graders depended on those supplies being delivered in time. What to do?

I showed students some examples of Islamic tile mosaics, to show them how the pieces fit together and do not overlap. Then, I found some neon copy paper in the recycle bin. This is recycling, right? My first graders love dinosaurs, so I drew the outline shape onto black bulletin board paper that I had rescued from an old bulletin board and let the kids cut small pieces to mosaic with. Later, I laminated the whole thing, because we used glue sticks to glue the pieces on and some started falling off. They loved collaborating on this project, and I loved that it cost nothing, because I scavenged everything!

This makes a great entrance into the building! Roar!!!!

Leave a Reply

